Conviction from a Not-Quite 5 Year Old

3 Feb

My sweet (and mostly crazy) firstborn will be 5 in nineteen days.  We are filling out her app for kindergarten and just registered her for softball.  How did she get so big?  She is brilliant like her daddy.  Her brain – and mouth – never stop.  She is currently obsessed with playing wii or computer games.  She reads like a champ and either torments or adores her sister (depends on the moment).  She has approximately 5,637 stuffed animals that seem to appear in every corner of our house.  She always has a plan or story going on in her head.  I am beginning to see how much we are alike and so we often drive each other crazy. I love her more than the planet.

And today, God used her before I had barely even opened my eyes to convict me.

I was sleeping a little later because she had visited in the middle of the night to share a dream that involved a skunk spraying her between her toes.  She has now mastered the froofy all-in-one remote her daddy has configured, so on typical mornings she usually heads to the Disney Channel before I even see her.

But this morning she climbed in my bed and started talking before I really even knew she was there.  “Mama,” she said. “Before I got out of bed this morning I prayed for all of the kids who don’t know Jesus.  I prayed that God would send them Bibles so that they could know Him.”  Then she hugged me and skipped out to watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse.

Wow.

How incredible that lost people were the first thing on her mind this morning?  And I was super convicted that they weren’t on mine.  When was the last time I had prayed for kids who don’t know Jesus and asked God to send His Word to them?  I won’t answer that out loud, because I don’t like the answer.

I’m fully convinced that God will use my girls to change the world.  They’re certainly already changing me!

2 Responses to “Conviction from a Not-Quite 5 Year Old”

  1. AmyFentonLee February 4, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    I LOVE this post! This is absolutely precious – AND convicting for ME!

  2. Tammy Jones February 4, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Ouch…that is so sweet and it hurts.

Leave a Reply

