Confession #1 of a Fulltime Mama/Fulltime Children’s Minister

7 Feb

Confession #1:

My house is a wreck.  All the time.  There are not enough hours in the day and I don’t choose to use enough of them cleaning.  I’ve tried the Fly Lady stuff and reading blogs from “life coaches” about how to organize your home.  And they made me tired.  The blogs talk alot about delegating many tasks to your kids.  Obviously they weren’t writing these with a 5 year old and 3 year old in their house or if they were, they weren’t my kids! 🙂

From where I am sitting right now I can see randomly in our den a wii remote, Mr. Potato Head glasses, a squinkie (anyone else get these goofy things for Christmas?  They are everywhere!), an exercise mat, a Santa Claus and a flip flop. : )  Our dishes are piled up in the sink and I can guarantee not one bed is made.

Maybe one day I will get it together.  And I want to do better.  But, a very wise friend once told me that if Jesus came back today He would not be checking on dirty dishes.  While I know it is important to be a good steward of my house and to have a happy environment for my kids and hubby, I am not going to sacrifice all the moments when my girls are little enough to be at home making sure everything is perfect.

Some of you are able to do it all and have a clean house too!  I want to be you when I grow up.  For now, I keep trying to do better and try not to let it make me nuts. 🙂

One Response to “Confession #1 of a Fulltime Mama/Fulltime Children’s Minister”

  1. Tammie Jones February 8, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    bless your heart, honey! Take it from me. Your house will probably not be “clean” for years. I am 50 years old and I work part time and do children’s ministry “full time” on a volunteer basis (I know I am old to be a children’s ministry leader but right now, I’m all our church has). I am also the pastor’s wife. My house is NOT clean….but it is no longer on my top ten list of important things to do with my time. The only reason mine is semi-clean is that my sweet little girl has grown into a responsible young woman of 19 and she helps me out a lot! ENJOY your children while they are small. All that housework will still be there! But those precious kids of yours will be grown and gone before you can blink twice.

Leave a Reply

